songwriting

31 Dec

Struggle is a part of songwriting. Being your own critic is raw honest opinion and not the easiest route. One of the questions I find myself asking is if this were another artist’s song, would I want this on my iPod? I’m still trying to figure out how a song fits together. I’ve found that some of my strengths are writing parts of an unfinished song, chord progressions and rhythm guitar. Sometimes inspiring lyrics find a way to me. Sometimes I have the lyrics and I have the chords, but I can’t seem to pull the two together. Melody is the core of a song I have yet to master. I haven’t found a melody I’ve actually liked. I’ve played many songs and studied the chord progressions. Intervals and chords in a key have played a huge part in thinking about which chords I’m playing. I never thought about melody lines until now and I think it’s time I look further into melodies. I’m hoping to largely improve songwriting by embracing my struggle, learning from confusion, continuing practicing and writing songs. I want to learn a lot more. I want to write a melody, guitar rifts, instrumental and multiple instrumental parts. I know I’ll be going back to the drawing board multiple times and revisiting square one. For now, I have to keep reminding myself it’s the courage to continue that counts and making the best of this songwriting journey.

(You can listen to my in the working demo by clicking on the link at the sidebar.)

One Response to “songwriting”

  1. aka_mara December 31, 2010 at 15:14 #

    Being your own critic is definitely the hardest part of songwriting! I found that with my songs, cause I had spent so much time crafting them, that I couldn’t see the dumb parts of them anymore lol 🙂

    Have you checked out books from pat pattison and sheila davis? They might have some good ideas about how to put a melody together 🙂

Leave a Reply

