stream of living memories in songs

3 Feb

I remember when I was younger, the first radio station I listened to was Radio Disney on the AM channel. The first time I remember being introduced to Eric Clapton was at a funeral when they played ‘Tears in Heaven’. There was a time when The Backstreet Boys, N’Sync and Britney Spears were my idols. My first official concert was the Backstreet Boys. When I was around five, I fell completely asleep at a pop concert in Hong Kong and I still remember taking that nap. Lion King introduced me to Elton John and Tarzan introduced me to Phil Collins. On drives to and from school, my dad would listen to the oldies channel. I always thought the oldies were lame, but guess who is listening to them now? Jack Johnson was my high school crush. I was first introduced to Led Zeppelin in middle school when my first guitar teacher, who was also my babysitter played me ‘Stairway to Heaven’. I revisited Led Zeppelin in 2010 and discovered I might have liked him sooner if it weren’t for ‘Stairway to Heaven’ that ruined the Led Zep experience for me. In a seventh grade dance, I wore this black skirt to impress James and ‘Hey Ya’ by Outkast was being played. When James and Max sang, ‘For the Longest Time,’ I became acquainted with Billy Joel. Then sometime during the middle school years, I asked a guy out over the phone. Nothing happened and it was a short-lived experience as a cover of ‘The First Cut is the Deepest’ was being played from my speakers when I asked him out. I sang and played a song on the guitar for this guy I really liked. I’ll never forget as I sang, ‘From Where I’m Standing’ by Schuyler Fisk. Listening to Gregory Alan Isakov brings me back to being in Hawaii. Currently in the college years, I’ve discovered jazz, blues, world music and much more as my iPod is updated almost weekly. A friend introduced me to Elliott Smith and ‘A Fond Farewell’ always reminds me of someone, especially friends who have passed away. Canon in D was being played on an organ as the church doors swung open at the end of Richard’s farewell. Halloween isn’t the same without Michael Jackson’s ‘Thriller’. I had the biggest crush on Jon, a drummer and had a short obsession with The Doors. I have always been guilty of liking songs that remind me of a guy I liked. There was this guy who had a crush on me and liked me enough to steal his dad’s AC/DC collection for me to borrow. I remember when iPods first came out and my brother and I had to share a green shuffle. I have an Ocean playlist. After I met and sang with Clay Aiken, I listened to his Christmas cd non-stop. Olivia introduced me to Brooke Fraser. One time we were at her house watching music videos of Teddy Geiger. In high school on yearbook day, I asked this guy to sign my yearbook all because he was wearing a Daft Punk shirt. ‘One More Time’ by Daft Punk is a hit my friends and I played in Jeepy while driving around town. Black Eyed Peas has always been apart of my significant life while being with friends. Going to live concerts with friends are some of the best times I’ve had. Even when CDs were available, I owned a cassette of Hoku. I have seen Graham Colton play as an opener for Kelly Clarkson and Vanessa Carlton. Even though I didn’t know who Graham Colton was while playing for Vanessa Carlton, I could still recall a song he played years ago at Kelly Clarkson. I didn’t know John Williams was a big deal until after he conducted my choir. My mom introduced me to Frank Sinatra and Cat Stevens. I could go on and on. I could write and have conversations with references to lyrics. Music has always been a part of my life and I don’t remember a time in my life without music.

Leave a Reply

