hope and pray for Japan

12 Mar

All at Once by Jack Johnson

All at once,
The world can overwhelm me
There’s almost nothin’ that you could tell me
That could ease my mind

What about is gone
And it really won’t be so long
Sometimes it feels like a heart is no place to be singin’ from at all

There’s still hope between the dreams
The weight of it all
Could blow away with a breeze
If you’re waiting on the wind
Don’t forget to breathe
‘Cause as the darkness gets deeper
We’ll be sinkin’ as we reach for love
At least somethin’ we could hold
But I’ll reach to you from where time just can’t go

I’ve been listening to this song over and over again since I heard the news about Japan. Music can be healing and the lyrics of this song soothe part of my troubled heart. I have felt much heartbreak for Japan. Through the silence that settled in me, the only thing I could think of was learning how to play this song on my guitar. I also felt like writing a song. I’m not sure if I’ll ever finish writing this song, but I was moved and hit deeply by this unfortunate calamity. I know it’s difficult to think there’s still hope in such difficult times, but I believe hope is out there. I believe, hope and pray for Japan.

Leave a Reply

