hair ribbons and rainbows

31 May

“In our world, I rank music somewhere between hair ribbons and rainbows in terms of usefulness” –The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins, Rue, 211)

Right now I’m on part II of The Hunger Games series, Catching Fire. I know there are lots of fans out there, but honestly, I’m not sure how I feel about this series. Part of the reason behind the partial dislike is the writing, characters and overall creepy idea behind the story. I do however give Suzanne Collins a lot of respect for such a creative approach with meanings and symbolism woven in the book. When I read the quoted line above, I laughed to myself because it was suddenly unexpected and charming for Rue, one of the characters in The Hunger Games to express herself with these very words. I absolutely loved knowing that music is essential in every kind of world, utopia to capitalism, fiction and any world that exists out there.

One Response to “hair ribbons and rainbows”

  1. randomlylovinglife June 5, 2011 at 13:27 #

    I’ve heard a lot about these books lately.
    What are they about? Any good?

Leave a Reply

