in search of a guitar teacher

3 Jun

I’ve been debating on whether I should find another guitar teacher. I just don’t know if this will solve anything at all. I don’t know if I have too high of expectations and I’m being unfair, but I have a feeling that some things don’t work out as I imagined. And after my countless music teachers and being a music teacher myself, I wonder if I’m being reasonable and realistic. I feel as though some things are missing and a part of my enthusiasm no longer sparks.

What I Value in a Guitar Teacher

  1. Price
  2. Location
  3. Someone who works hard at teaching, but most of all BELIEVES IN ME.
  4. Experience of playing and teaching guitar.
  5. Method: ear training, music theory and technique.
  6. Studio Policies: cancellation and make-up.
  7. Teaches at a registered business studio.
  8. Writes their own songs and willing to share songwriting techniques.
  9. Demonstrates for students, then lets students experiment and play.
  10. Doesn’t act like they know more than you.
Leave a Reply

