awaiting for album releases

13 Jun

About: I’ve always been a fan of Vanessa Carlton since her first album, Be Not Nobody. I think as an artist, Carlton is one of those musicians who keep getting progressively better. I’ve listened to bits and pieces of Rabbits On the Run and her work is truly incredible. I’ve also read and watched interviews about the making behind Rabbits On the Run. Carlton has introduced me to Real World Studios and Peter Gabriel. One day, if I could write an album of my dreams and self-fund my project, I would go England and record there. All the parts with the children’s choir was recorded at Abbey Road Studios. I’ve only seen the outside of Abbey Road Studios and again, I only dream of being inside the studio. She talked about playing on the same upright piano that John Lennon played on. To me, that’s like experiencing the Magical Mystery Tour. Her inspirations for the album were Stephen Hawking’s A Brief History in Time and Richard Adams’ Watership Down. I’m not sure how much I like Hawking, but needless to say, I have already requested Watership Down from the library. All the stories Carlton talks about and all the song previews I’ve heard have been dreamlike and I can’t wait to hear this album.

Release date: July 27, 2011

About: Mat Kearney’s songs are the most played songs on my iPod. I’ve always felt that I am Annie. And as I listen to ‘Hey Mama’, Mat Kearney’s new single, I am the other Annie all over again. There’s something that compels me to Mat Kearney’s songwriting, his stories, his beats, his voice and the list goes on and on. Selfishly, I wish he had written all those songs for me. There’s so much adventure, love and heartbreak he writes about. Kearney brings me to happiness and tears all too often. I’ve kept up with his e-mail and YouTube updates, while he was in the process of making Young Love. I love his sense of humor and how deep he talks about writing these songs until the words are right. I love the synthesizers he uses, tap along beats and his true and honest words. Young Love is going to be a surprise and I’m not sure what to expect, but I’m excited to hear the young side of Mat Kearney.

Release date: August 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

