a musician playing solely from the soul

21 Aug

The definition of a soul surfer is “a surfer who merely surfs for the love of the sport” (Soul Surfer, Bethany Hamilton, 190). Reading those words reminded me of why we should do the things we do. And everything in life should be done out of love. Not out of fear, fear of failure, because someone told you so, you want to be someone else, etc, etc. I know I’m interpreting the definition beyond what’s written and necessary, but I was surely in awe, learning what being a soul surfer means.

Lately, playing and writing music has lacked meaning for me. There has been no connection, no emotions, just going through the motions. But music is none of this. From what I remember (before feeling this way), music has always been my world. There would be a pulse, a living sound running through my veins and a flying sense of understanding and hope whenever I listened to music. Somehow, I need to find this feeling again. And I’ll be honest. For four years, I have always wanted to be a singer/songwriter as a career. I don’t know if I’ll ever reach being a professional musician, but I do know I want to be a soul musician. I want to play music for the love of music.

Leave a Reply

