sundance film festival 12: the films and film scores

29 Jan



I experienced the Sundance Film Festival for the first time in my life yesterday. I watched Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry and Documentary Spotlights. After watching Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry and The Tsunami and Cherry Blossom (Documentary Spotlights), my life has been forever changed. Now, I have this sense of responsibility and the call to action. I believe in protecting freedom of speech and democracy. I also believe in nature and in revival.

There’s a huge part of me that is inspired by the environment of independent artists and intellectuals at Sundance. I fully support independent film makers and musicians. I hope that soon enough, DVDs and music from Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry and The Tsunami and Cherry Blossom will be made available for purchase.

The music in Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry is composed by Ilan Isakov (listen to samples of the music here). What I enjoyed about Ilan Isakov’s composition is the different instruments used and the subtle details in the music accompanying the film. The music never overwhelms the intense situations in the film and captures the spirit of the moment. Through Twitter (Ilan Isakov actually tweeted me!), I recently found out that Ilan Isakov is Gregory Alan Isakov’s brother. All I can say is they are two incredible and madly talented musicians.

The Tsunami and Cherry Blossom is composed by Moby. I expected the music in the film to highlight and dramatize the tragedy of the tsunami. Instead, the tone of the music is positive, emphasizing hope, peace and comfort. I couldn’t get enough.

I know the ASCAP Music Cafe is one of the major music events at Sundance, but I wish film scores and composers were talked about more. And even though I didn’t get to see the documentary, Finding North, I would love to hear music that The Civil Wars composed. I have tweeted Ilan Isakov, Moby and The Civil Wars (both John Paul White and Joy Williams) and I hope there will be news about the release of music from these films. Everyone needs to watch these films and listen to the soundtracks.

Leave a Reply

