so glad to meet you, angeles

25 May

Elliott Smith Memorial

Photo taken in Los Angeles, California on 3.16.12

Special thanks to the Rasmussen’s who drove me there.

Back in the summer of 2009, I visited Abbey Road in England. After walking on the grounds of music legends and seeing graffiti after graffiti of Yellow Submarines, I had this idea that I wanted to visit the places my favourite musicians have lived or been.

Then in March 2012, I finally saw the Elliott Smith memorial wall. The wall was forgotten, became insignificant over time in the lost and found, covered in graffiti. I have to admit I was slightly disappointed. The wall was completely different than what I imagined in my head. I remembered seeing this wall in the Elliott Smith pictures taken by Autumn de Wilde. But that was then and this is now.

Everyone who was in the car with me, seeing the Elliott Smith memorial were all puzzled as why we drove through LA traffic to see this memorial. I think it was my mom asked something like, “so who is this Elliott Smith guy?” Where do I even begin? I give a half reply saying he’s one of the greatest musicians and that he killed himself. But really, I’ve never told anybody how I came to know Elliott.

I was first introduced to Elliott Smith’s music during the choir years. I think of Nile and ‘A Fond Farewell’, which was one of the very first Elliott songs I listened to. I experienced a less fond farewell when Tika took her own life and I played ‘A Fond Farewell’ over and over on repeat. Later, there were two guys I thought I was madly in love with. Well, madly crushing on and apparently, actually only a lover in daydreams. I still associate Elliott with their names and how they were just ‘somebody I used to know’. Now it’s Sara and Morgan, two guitar rock stars I think of, who also share their love for Elliott.

Dear Elliott, your music lives on and will always be a part of me.

Leave a Reply

