sundance ASCAP music café

31 Jan

DSC02526DSC02530DSC02536DSC02540

Sundance 2013

Monday, January 21

Greg Holden

Dave Berg

Sea Wolf

For a few years, I’ve dreamed of going to the Sundance ASCAP Music Café on Main Street. And then my dream came true when I volunteered at the Sundance Film Festival for the very first time this year. I couldn’t be more excited when I found out I could actually see bands play live with my credential. Nothing plays out like I imagine in my head. I’ve now learned to separate dreams and reality.

I liked the intimacy of the venue. I fell in love with some songs and other songs I didn’t care about at all. I really liked the keyboardist from Sea Wolf. Greg Holden became my favourite out of the three bands. I love how he has his whole heart and soul in his music. All the while I was there, a part of me couldn’t help but feel sad. I felt a little lost and confused in the music. Listening to these musicians made me realize that I need to keep going and work harder. I need to write my songs. And seeing these musicians play on a stage made me realize how badly I want my other dream to come true. I want to be on a stage myself, playing music to a crowd.

Leave a Reply

