reliving the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City

6 Aug

 

Citius. Altius. Fortius. Those words. Those horns. The orchestra and The Mormon Tabernacle Choir. John Williams. There’s a certain chill, an ethereal feeling, a place that the music brings me, standing there in the familiar Tabernacle, the lights and cameras with the International Children’s Choir. What I felt then, I still feel now as I keep watching the video over and over again. It’s only now when I look back that I appreciate and feel grateful I was there. I sang with The Mormon Tabernacle. I sang with John Williams as the conductor. I sang during the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City with the spirit of the olympics.

Watching this video brought back lots of memories. I remember signing a birthday card for John Williams. How many people can really say they signed a birthday card for John Williams?! I only wish I really knew who John Williams was at the time. This is terribly embarrassing, but back then, I didn’t have the slightest idea who John Williams was. I had never watched a Star Wars movie. I don’t think I had even connected the Harry Potter theme song or soundtrack to John Williams. How I’ve come a long ways as John Williams has become one of my favourite composers.

All of this really happened. I lived it then and I relive it all once again. Reminiscing the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City, eleven years later and counting in the Salt Lake City summer.

Note: Thank you, Frances for sending me this video!

One Response to “reliving the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City”

  1. Erin Goldberg December 8, 2014 at 00:25 #

    Wow. Amazing how hearing that just threw me back to that two weeks of magic!

Leave a Reply

