Sundance 2014: film soundtracks

29 Jan

A list of my favourite film soundtracks from the 2014 Sundance Film Festival.

14086-1

1. Wish I Was Here

The song credits at the end of the film were blank and I wish I knew the artists behind the songs.  All I do know and will say is Zach Braff gave the audience permission to clap for Bon Iver.

Unrelated to the soundtrack of Wish I Was Here, Zach Braff looked at me while I took this picture!

13902-1

2. Song One

One of my favourite songs from Song One is “The Marble Song”. All songs were written by songwriters, Jenny Lewis and Johnathan Rice and performed by Johnny Flynn. The songs felt real and I truly almost believed James Forester was a real musician. I fell in love with the songwriting, as well as with Johnny Flynn and his voice.

Also unrelated to the soundtrack of Song One, I fan girled the director, Kate Froyland-Barker and she was incredibly nice.

13881-1

3. God Help the Girl 

Stuart Murdoch from Belle & Sebastian proves one can be brilliant at being a director, screenwriter and musician all at once. To be honest, I am not a fan of musicals, but I enjoyed God Help the Girl. The music made me want to write a song on the piano and helped me realize how all of our life experiences and really, anything can be turned into a song.

13915-1

4. Alive Inside: A Story of Music & Memory

Alive Inside: A Story of Music & Memory is a heartfelt documentary on how music changes lives. The film score composed by Itaal Shur is magnificent and flawless. Samples of lasting pop music throughout generations are played throughout the film. One of those samples is “Fa La La La La La Le” by The Tremeloes, which is how I’ve become a fan of the band.

13938-1

5. Rich Hill

While I didn’t think the music matched the tone of the film, I really liked the cinematic quality of the film score composed by Nathan Halpbern. Independent from the film, the film score is lovely.

Side note worth mentioning: Sing a Happy Song by The O’Jays in The Voices.

Leave a Reply

