red rocks amphitheatre: gregory alan isakov with the colorado symphony

24 Jul

DSC00567

DSC00586

Gregory Alan Isakov with the Colorado Symphony

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Morrison, Colorado Red Rocks Amphitheatre

Setlist:

Amsterdam

This Empty Northern Hemisphere

That Moon Song

Saint Valentine

The Stable Song

Evelyn

Dandelion Wine

Living Proof

Unwritable Girl

Liars

Encore: If I Go, I’m Goin with Bonnie Paine from Elephant Revival

To the crowd of 9,525 and more at the sold out Red Rocks show, Gregory said something like, “I don’t really have goals, but this is f*&!ing cool!” And this is what I love about Gregory. There’s nothing pretentious about him. His words are honest and his music is full of heart, of poetic grace on life and with infallible respect for the musicians he plays with. All of Gregory’s songs are my favourite, but my favourite that night was definitely “Evelyn”. Maybe it’s because I have such an affinity with the character of Evelyn, but the live version tells of another story. With the Colorado Symphony, there’s this added energy and element to “Evelyn” and all of Gregory’s songs. The swell of the strings and percussion at the chorus. There needs to be a live album of this. I’ve traveled to Phoenix, Arizona and now Morrison, Colorado to see Gregory. They have been life changing experiences as a musician and meeting forever friends (to Bree and Keith) and the kindest fans of Gregory (thank you to the guy who saved us by getting our car out of a hole in the rocks). I wish I could follow Gregory on the rest of The Weatherman tour to relive everything again and again. Thank you, thank you, thank you Gregory!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.